Anyone out there get into medical school WITHOUT doing a post-bacc?

Hi, everyone:

I’m new to the premed scene. I LOVE this group–I’ve been devouring your discussions for the past couple of weeks.

I have a question: I just graduated from a graduate program in environmental science with a 3.89. I’m working and going to school part-time. (I’m taking Genetics this quarter, and probably Physiology and Gen Chem I next quarter.)

I know there’s been a lot of talk about informal vs post-bacc programs. I’ve read most of those threads, but I’d love to hear some anecdotal evidence from the folks who got into medical school–anyone out there take classes piecemeal and still get into medical school? Even better, get into med school with some funding? Even BETTER, get into a UC med school? (I’m in Cali.)

I’m not sure that I necessarily want to shell out the dough (or give up my income or great internship in a nearby hospital)–all of which would be necessary if I enrolled in a formal post-bacc program.

I had a 3.2 in undergrad (which was a looooooooooong time ago–I graduated in 95) but some pretty dismal science grades…a C in Orgo I (which I brought up to a B the next semester) and a D+ in Phys II (which came down from a B in Phys I–I just never understood the electrical stuff). I’m a different person academically than I was back then, though–I know enough to go to office hours and beg for help when I’m struggling.

So–any edifying stories from the people with acceptance (or rejection) letters?

Thanks again for your input–and (again) for the existence of this site!

By the way, I am so sad about this “no community college classes” rule. Classes at UC schools are EXPENSIVE next to the local cc. Ah well.

Welcome, Violet :).

I’ve not yet been accepted, but I’m taking courses piecemeal, and it’s worked out well for me. Amy, who posts as “Emergency!,” is another proponent of the informal approach; she’s currently an MS1 at Ohio State.