Application Cycle & Application Questions

Hello Dr. Gray and fellow OPMs,

I am having trouble determining whether I should be applying this cycle (2021-2022), or whether I should hold off until the next one.

I graduated in 2018 with a 2.685 GPA. Clearly, undergrad did not go as planned for many reasons. I decided to take some time off from school and instead, focused my energy on gaining clinical exposure to truly re-affirm to myself that I indeed am on the right path.

I was incredibly lucky to gain a job opportunity as a Clinical Research Coordinator in Migraine Medicine.

In this position, I have direct patient interaction that range from collecting vitals, collecting patient history, conducting ECGs, to preparing blood samples and completing patient visits for clinical studies. I have been working full time in this capacity for the past 2 years and have gained much experience, not only about medicine in general, but also about patient care by the means of building long-term relationships with patients.

I have had quite some time to re-assess my journey and had applied to a Master’s of Neuroscience program. I recently received an acceptance to the program and am currently gearing up to starting graduate school in February.

The program consists of 4 semesters, however it may be completed in 3. In other words, I may finish this program by Spring '22, or latest, by Fall '22.

I have not taken the MCAT yet. I recently started preparing for it, and was aiming to take it by the end of March/April.

Prior to my job as a CRC in Migraine Medicine, I have had another research experience, worked in the call center at the same neurologic facility I am currently working at, while attending talks & lectures held by various Physician’s in gaining exposure to different branches of medicine.