Applying to Med School for International Student

Hi everyone !

Firstly I am so glad that I found this forum ! There is so much useful information.

I am a new member here and need some advice with applying to med schools in US.

Here is my situation:

I have a BS in Electrical Engineering (GPA 2.4 when I had my degree evaluated here in US), an MS in Mechanical Engineering (GPA 3.87) and currently doing a second MS in Electrical Engineering at USC (GPA 3.2). I have done some research in BioMedical and am really keen on going to med school ! But first I am an international student, second I am 28 years old, and third my GPAs don’t seem to be competetive. I was wondering what the chances are for my acceptance if I just do a premed at a community college and apply ?

Would it be better if I started a Biology undergrad and finished it and then applied ? (2 years of community college and then transfer to UCLA) Is it possible to finish the biology major in three years ? One of the reasons of doing this is that US Med schools seem to like the people who have done their undergrad studies here. The only degree I have from here is my EE Masters from USC which will be over next semester

Can you please give me your advice ?

Thanks very much

Maverick

Others with more international experience will likely be able to correct this, but my impression is:

• I believe there’s a preference for having undergrad prereqs from a US school. There’s also less financial support available for international students.

• Undergrad GPA is considered more significant than graduate GPA

• You’ll most likely need to have pre-reqs (BCPM) that were completed within the 5-7 years prior to applying

With that in mind, it seems your route may be similar to mine (and for what it’s worth, your undergrad GPA is similar as well) : I took a handful of classes at a Community College, and I’ll be heading to a local University in the Fall to complete.