Applying with a Criminal Record

Hello OPM!

I am a long time forum lurker and listener to Dr. Gray’s podcasts. I’ll apologize now for the long post!

I am 26 years old and recently graduated with a BS is Psychology with a 3.57 cumulative GPA and 3.54 BCPM GPA. I am taking me the MCAT in April and am currently hitting 70-80% on my practice sections. I’ve volunteered at a local emergency department and physical therapy department for almost 300 hours. I have 2 years undergrad research experience in a TBI research lab with one 3rd author publication and 4 posters (one as first author). I was an intern at the campus clinic where I had 100 patient contact hours. I was also the president of an honor society at my college (Psi Chi) and a member of another (Alpha Epsilon Delta). I was also a teaching assistant for the department of biology. I am now in a two-year postbac research program at the NIH and am working with a group doing clinical research. Also, I have some great letter of recommendation writers from many of these positions I’ve mentioned.

Ok wow that was a lot to type on my phone but here is where my dilemma begins. When I was 18 I dropped out of high school with three courses to go. I went on to leave home and do a lot of dumb things. This hiatus lasted 2 years and I ended up with two misdemeanors. The first was paraphernalia and is now expunged. The second is criminal mischief and is not expunged. I served two years probation for the second offense. The second offense is the only one that shows on background checks. The offense occurred in January of 2010.