Artice: Bitter Pill: Why Medical Bills Are Killing Us

http://healthland.time.com/2013/02/20/bitter-pil l-…

IMHO this is an apolitical article with really great reporting. If you’re going to be applying to medical school (and ultimately become a physician) I think it is a must read. Nothing in this article was news to me but it was really eyeopening to read it synthesized all together and from a great perspective.

Great read. Not finished yet. But reading this makes me sick. Coming from France, a country where health care is free, I really, truly don’t get how the system is what it is here.

So question is how do we change it? Some of this stuff is just insane.

Great article.

I completely agree with the tort reform stuff. As a paramedic, I think if we lived in a less litigious society, I think I’m capable of pulling out a spinter, cleaning the wound, apply a bandage and maybe a little neosporin, and not have to take that person to the hospital. But unfortunately, that’s not how it works and everyone gets to be seen by a physician, N.P., or P.A. regardless of how ridiculous their complaint. If there were a better (and legal) system of triage, we could greatly reduce cost. Furthermore, as the article states, the cost of endless unwarranted test can’t be sustained. I see it in the E.R. all the time, sad but true.