At a crossroads. Help!

I am 24 and debating what to do with my life. I graduated from a top 25 university and, the following year, completed a masters degree in finance. I was pre-med as an undergraduate and did not apply myself to my studies. I cruised in most of my non pre-med classes but my poor performance (mostly due to lack of effort) in my science studies weighed down my GPA (3.1 overall, 2.7 science). I was very involved outside of the classroom and had a slew of good extra curriculars on my resume (not like they matter now).

Currently, I am working for a consulting firm that specializes in the pharma and biotech industries. It’s a good job, but I find myself drawn back to medicine. I take every chance I get to listen to med school lectures and read about the day-to-day life of physicians. Throughout my life I have always wanted to be a doctor and I would hate to see that dream fall by the wayside because of my bad choices in college.

My first question to the community is: should I give up on the dream of practicing medicine and focus on furthering my career in business, or, should I persist? I don’t want to devote 3-4 years of my life studying for the MCAT, re-taking course work, and applying if in the end I will be faced with nothing but rejection letters.