Bad reason for why I want to be a doctor? (PhD to MD)

I’m a 27-year-old postdoc working in synthetic biology / antimicrobials / bioinformatics. I’ll probably be applying to schools to start in Fall 2018. I have ~3.8 GPA from grad school, practice MCAT scores look fine, lots of publications and awards, some decent clinical experience, etc. So all of that seems okay.

My biggest concern is my inability to concisely explain why I want to go to medical school. After talking to several friends who support the idea of med school (and who are in med school themselves), I realized that I could be labeled by as someone who simply likes school and doesn’t want to join the real world.

Is my reasoning convincing?

There's a very low probability of any of my research ever impacting anyone's life. Currently, taking a drug to market is >3 billion dollars and >12 years. I want the ability to improve the lives of others with my work, potentially on a daily basis.

In my experience, most basic research is conducted by creating a problem and proposing to solve it. I would like to work on the overabundance of outstanding clinical problems.

(Some other similar ideas)

I'd love to hear any opinions / criticism.

It sounds like you meet the general criteria of “I want to help people”, though you have more tangible reasons. I would bet an academic institution would love to bring you on board at their med school with your experience and foundational knowledge. It sounds like you like to research but would rather shift from bench to clinical. That sounds like a pretty convincing reason to me…