Been away for awhile, but now I am back

Hello everyone…it has been some time since I was on here. Matter of fact, poor Theresa had to grab my attention by sending me a private e-mail.
Whats been going on with me is that I have fallen into the dreaded statistics of “divorce.” My ex kept the computer along with the payment that came with it, so I really didn’t have a way of getting on here.
Right now I am in my second semester working on my EMT-Intermediate. It is a blast and I am really glad I decided to take this detour on my way to med school.
I have run across a road block however. I am not sure if it is really possible for me to continue forward with my goals of becoming a doctor. I am 31 years old, still working on my bachelor’s degree (probably about 3 years left). I decided to go the paramedic route, because it would only delay me 4 semesters, and then it was back on track with my bachelor’s and pre-med reqs. Plus, I could get experience into the medical world, that would involve a paycheck. rolleyes.gif
My fear is now being a single mom with 2 and trying to give them a life. The thought has crossed my mind to go in the direction of RN. There are programs out there that you can transition from paramedic to RN. Why would I be going the RN route instead of the MD route? Simply for the money. Knowing that I would be finished with school a lot sooner, and I would not be struggling to keep a home for my girls. I would be able to buy them things, take them places…things that I am not sure I would be able to do if I continued on my path to med school. Another thing is that I would have to stay here in the area (Houston). That gives me 3 med schools to choose from.