Beginning my journey to MD

Hello All,

Im 25yrs young have a Degree in Criminal Justice and absolutely hate what I am doing. I graduated in 09’ with a GPA around 2.2. At the time I had a lot going on in my life (mother sickness, immaturity, etc) and didn’t focus much on school at all. Well like many on this forum I really regret my decisions to do so poorly in school overall and to choose CJ as a major. So recently I have decided to take steps to reach my goal of being a MD. I am caught at a few cross roads and hope the great individuals on this site could help point me in the right direction.

1. Due to my extremely low GPA is it best that I go back for a second bachelors? (If so, will I be accepted into another program with the low GPA)

2. Is it possible to just take the mandatory pre-reqs and still have a chance of getting into med school?

I am open to all opinions and any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks…I am looking forward to sharing my journey with all of you and hopefully helping others along the way
  • Chris24864 Said:
Hello All,

Im 25yrs young have a Degree in Criminal Justice and absolutely hate what I am doing. I graduated in 09' with a GPA around 2.2. At the time I had a lot going on in my life (mother sickness, immaturity, etc) and didn't focus much on school at all. Well like many on this forum I really regret my decisions to do so poorly in school overall and to choose CJ as a major. So recently I have decided to take steps to reach my goal of being a MD. I am caught at a few cross roads and hope the great individuals on this site could help point me in the right direction.

1) Due to my extremely low GPA is it best that I go back for a second bachelors? (If so, will I be accepted into another program with the low GPA)

2) Is it possible to just take the mandatory pre-reqs and still have a chance of getting into med school?

I am open to all opinions and any advice is greatly appreciated.