Being told I'm too old for volunteer work

Hi all. Ok I’m a little frustrated here so I just need to vent. I wrote in another thread that I have not been able to do any volunteer work. A big part of that is I don’t have the time during the school year…but ok if I’m perfectly honest, I don’t WANT to have the time because I’m tired of being told that I’m too old. I guess I’m a little frustrated with the volunteering requirement, because in the past when I have tried to apply for positions I’m told I’m too old. 32…old? HELLOOO!
My interests lie in humanitarian medical work, so I’ve applied to several “student summer internships” to work in the field. What gets me is that I am a full-fledged full-time student yet I am told I’m not eligible because of my age. I actually applied to one organization that the ONLY requirement for the internship listed was that you be a “full-time student.” Well I applied, didn’t get accepted and the next summer when I went to apply again they had posted an additional requirement: full-time student between the ages of 18-25.
Maybe I just need to start my own volunteer project for those 30 and above…then I can tell people “you’re too YOUNG” (which I think med schools need to start doing…but that’s a whole other thread) Thanks for letting me vent.

Yikes! That’s bad. You have a right to vent. I would suggest you’re too good for that program; maybe you can find something better.
Hospitals rely on volunteers; the one I volunteer at has hundreds of volunteers of all ages. The bulk of them are retirees, but there’s a substantial “premed” contingent as well. You might say, the young and the old are represented very well, but the folks in the middle years–30s, 40s, and 50s–tend not to be.