Best route?

I’m 33 y/o. I took all my pre-med basics Biol, Chem, Engl, Span, Psy, etc. 2.55 gpa. In 1998 joined the Army, where I studied Respiratory Therapy. Been practicing for 10 yrs. The idea of going to Med school is in my head 24/7. I know i have the potential, the passion, and the heart. What would be the best way to do it? I’ve been thinking about starting from Zero. I’m married and have a 6y/o girl and another due on July 8th this year, but my wife is extremely supportive of me going to Med school. What would be the best route?

1 Like

If you find this thread moved, don’t panic - it “feels” like it belongs in pre-med forum

BTW, I am only a pre-med myself so take what I say with a very large grain of salt and recognize it’s only MY perspective (I would echo that for most of us on here who have never been directors of admissions or adcom members).

Anyway, from my POV, you need to retrake gen chem, bio, math, physics as the coursework too old and your GPA lower than competitive. The others are probably okay as they won’t be tested on the MCAT. In addition, you should get A’s and A’-s to be competitive and then a solid MCAT score (above 30). In addition, those A’s and A-'s also help differentiate the lower GPA from back then, and what focus you have now as a student. There are a few of us on here (including me) fighting that “I was stupid when 20” diseased GPA.

I’d also encourage you to do a ton of research on here and other forums to help assist you in planning. Seems there’s always somebody around to answer a question or lend a helping “ear” …

Last, take your time taking classes, focus on grades, and then focus on grades some more. You have the patient care component of an app already nailed with your current position, just nail the rest now.

G’luck!!

Hi,

I am 30 y/o who have completed all the pre-med reqs undergrad. I graduated '01. I don’t really know my science GPA. but with overall GPA of 2.8