Bipolar...med school?

Hello all!

Just wanted to post my situation and see if anyone has had a similar situation or any advice. I am struggling with the question “do I even pursue the pre-med track? is there hope?”.

I am 34, I worked as an RN for 8 years. I have bipolar type II disorder and generalized anxiety. I have been on medication since I was 14, my primary symptom is depression which is usually short lived and limited to a few hours and then I am able to lift myself out of it because I know myself very well and know my disorder inside and out. 5 years ago I went through a very painful divorce and I ended up with extreme financial difficulties and my depression got very bad. i lost my job and was also in a program in MN called Health Professionals Service Program(HPSP) it is a unique program for medical professions that have mental disorders or addictions. due to the loss of my job, I lost my insurance and I couldnt afford my medications or to continue therapy and psychiatry visits. I got another job at a nursing home but the insurance didn’t start for 3 months and with no meds my depression and the divorce I missed a lot of work and was replaced. That summer I start 5 different jobs at nursing homes and due to know medical insurance it was the same over and over. I finally got into a county program that provided my meds for me and got me back on my feet. I had to quit because HPSP reported me to the nursing board saying I was non-compliant with my meds, but it was not on purpose, I have always been religious about my medical care and taking medications and therapy etc, but I couldn’t afford my meds out of pocket with no insurance. It was a catch 22. Due to all this the nursing board suspended my license for 2 years. I never had a lawsuit or medical errors, so it was based on my mental health. As I get older, my illness is getting better and I am learning more skills to deal with it. I am only on 2 medications now at small doses and doing well, working 2 job