Brand New M.D.

Hi folks,
I want to introduce myself. My name is Natalie J. Belle, M.D. and I have been an M.D. for about 24 hours at the time of this little post.
Today we had our official total Howard Univesity graduation ceremony. We gave honorary degrees to Judith Jamison, Artistic Director of the Alvin Ailey Dance Theatre and Venus Williams, U.S. Open Tennis Champion. The mayor of Atlanta was our speaker. As each school was introduced, the graduates did a demonstration or cheer. When they introduced the College of Medicine, we stood on our chairs and chanted, " HU O2, Medicine is what we do." Our dean was thrilled with our little demonstration.
My degree is 17 inches by 32 inches and written in Latin. They included a translation for those who are not able to read the ancient language. We also had our pictures taken again with our Deans and degrees. The weather was hot but there were bottles of water under our chairs. We were placed between the School of Divinity and School of Law. What a strange place to put medicine. When one of the graduates fainted in the crowd, some of us were pressed into service early.
Yesterday and today were emotional and amazing. I still can’t believe I managed to get through all those thousands of little things that one has to get through to finish medical school. I feel ready for the next step and ready to start residency. I am starting to get excited about operating already.
I took lots of photos from graduation and I will post them somewhere on the web. It has been an interesting journey and I would not have traded any part of it. I will say out loud and with all honesty, if I can do this, anyone can. I keep the quote below pasted on my computer so I can read it every day. I hope it will help those who follow, to get to this point.
“Live your life each day as you would climb a mountain. An
occasional glance towards the summit keeps the goal in mind,
but many beautiful scenes are to be observed from each new