Bringing up old stuff...

I’m sure this question has been asked and answered billions of times, but… What if I take my pre-reqs at a community college (night school is my only option)? Does that mean my chance of getting into med school is decreased? I already have a MS in occupational therapy from a medical university (in SC). But I can’t afford to work part time while I get my pre-reqs. I really WANT everyone to tell me that as long as I do well in my classes and on the MCAT it doesn’t matter, but I really NEED to hear the truth from those who know. Thanks.
Ashley

I took all my pre-reqs at community college - before, during and after my BA. I’m now a first year med student who got accepted to several medical schools.
So, it’s ok, really.
BUT: You MUST do VERY well there. Plan on getting A’s. Beware that some med schools have limitations on how many credits you can take at community college. (I remember one of the KY schools has such a policy, but I didn’t apply to any of those.) In interviews, I was asked why I took pre-reqs at CC and when I told them schedule flexibility and money they gave me knowing nods and seemed well-satisfied with that answer.
If you’d like the longer version, you can check out my website.

there are schools that aren’t keen on CC credits - or may outright say they don’t accept them. However, they won’t SAY this anywhere on their websites or in their literature, or in their blurb in the AAMC guide - you’ll have to call them individually. I know someone who wasn’t told that Duke frowns on CC credits until after she sent the secondary (AND MONEY, of course).
Does it hurt your chances? Well, it may slightly diminish the number of schools to which you apply, so in that sense, yes it could. But under the circumstances you describe, I think you’re doing the right thing and the advice to get As and do well on the MCAT is your best bet.
Mary