BSN, Biology or Health Science? Advice needed...

Hey everybody! I’m new to this forum, so I wanted to introduce myself and ask for advice.

I’m 31 years old and have 3 children (6 months, 3 and 4 years old), and am currently enrolled in a General Education program at a local Community College. I wanted to study medicine since I was a teenager, but never had the confidence that I could actually do it. After moving to the states from Germany (where I worked as a lab tech), I decided now is the time to just go for it.

And here is where I need some advice! The program I am in right now goes toward nursing (RN). I didn’t make it into the actual nursing program this time, because I had just started to take my pre-req’s for it (the way this school determines who gets into the program is the sum of your ACT score + points for grades in certain courses + loyalty points for obtaining a certain amount of credit hours at this school). I only had the ACT score to count for me. If I keep taking my pre-req’s there, I will make it into the program next year, get my RN, then do a bridge program to get the BSN.

I wanted to get the BSN in case things don’t work out and I won’t get accepted into med school, or life just happens and I need to work full-time instead of going to med school. I am married and my husband works full-time, but who knows what’s going to come our way in the future.