Building DIY postbacc schedule

Hi there! I’m a nontrad postbacc student that graduated with a 3.8 GPA in business at Georgia Tech. After a couple years working in the software industry, I finally decided to pull the trigger and go back to school to pursue what I’ve always wanted to do. I’m currently in classes at the community college here in Austin, Texas taking Bio 1, Chem 1, and Physics 1. This worked better for me financially than an official postbacc program, and enabled me to work as a PCT at the hospital downtown.

My question is this: What classes are mandatory and which are recommended? In my research, I’ve found medical schools require 8hrs of both Bio and Chem and 8hrs of Orgo (2 semesters). and SOME require 8hrs total of Physics. Some, additionally, require bio chem and genetics as mandatory classes. Which ones should I take? My tentative plan is to complete this spring semester of the entry level courses, take Chem 2 and Phys 2 in the summer, and in the fall take Orgo 1 and Bio 2 and maybe an elective? I’m not sure. All recs welcome!

Thanks in advance!!

Hi! I’m also in Texas, doing a DIY postbac through community college. After researching this question this is my list of “standard” required prerequisites (not all schools have all of these, but many do, so I’m trying to take them all):

• Bio 1 and 2 +lab
  • Chem 1 and 2 +lab
  • Orgo 1 and 2 +lab
  • Physics 1 and 2 +lab
  • Statistics
  • Calculus (many schools ask for 1 semester but keep in mind Physics 2 often requires Calc 2)
  • Biochem (1 semester)
  • Genetics (optional, look at the requirements of the schools you’re interested in)

Also, I’m wondering where you’re planning to take Biochem? For some reason just a regular biochem class is really hard to find at Texas schools, from searching class schedules!

Super helpful! Thanks skaran! I already have Calculus and Statistics on my Undergrad transcript, so I assume that means I don’t have to take those again. Am I right in thinking this?