Cadaver based Gross Anatomy

Just out of curiosity, how many of you have taken undergraduate gross anatomy or advanced anatomy in a cadaver based program vs. plastic models and picture books. Im majoring in biology at a small state college in UT and we have cadaver based programs including a senior level disectional course (which I'm taking right now). Is this as odd at the undergraduate level as they would have us beleive. Figured I'd ask others in the trenches. Thanks all.

QUOTE (spongemonkey @ Sep 2 2003, 09:53 PM)
Just out of curiosity, how many of you have taken undergraduate gross anatomy or advanced anatomy in a cadaver based program vs. plastic models and picture books. Im majoring in biology at a small state college in UT and we have cadaver based programs including a senior level disectional course (which I'm taking right now). Is this as odd at the undergraduate level as they would have us beleive. Figured I'd ask others in the trenches. Thanks all.

Hi there,
Dissecting cadavers is not at all rare at the undergraduate level if facilities and proper staff are available. Howard had undergraduate anatomy classes that use cadavers. I also had cadavers at Mary Washington College when I was an undergraduate there too.
When human remains are involved, there are lots of state regulations that govern storage and disposal. At Howard and MWC, we had several liscenced morticians on staff to insure that these regulations were carried out. Many colleges do not go to such expense but those who have medical schools, dental schools will have dieners and the like to take care of the cadavers. Sometimes these services can be provided for colleges by an outside contractor.
Natalie