Can I overcome the albatross around my neck?

This is another one of those “I screwed up when I was younger and now I’m trying like HELL to escape my past mistakes” post. I graduated from college in 1993 with a 2.33 GPA (BA in English). I was young, immature, didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life at the time. Now, I’m a 36 (soon to be 37) year old, married father of 1 (with the wife due with our 2nd sometime around Christmas) that has realized he wants to be a doctor.

I currently work as a therapist treating dually diagnosed patients (psychiatric and chemical dependence) at a partial hospital program. I am the director of several of the programs and manage about 80 people. I have tons of clinical experience doing therapy with patients, plus I worked for 2 years in a psychiatric hospital working closely with the doctors at the hospital. I have no volunteer or shadowing (unless you count working along side a psychiatrist as they make their rounds - which I did daily for over a year).

Since my undergraduate days, I have gotten a master’s degree in Clinical Psychology with a 3.96 GPA. I have taken Chem I and II, Bio I and II, and Physics I. I received A’s in all of them. I am currently enrolled in Physics II and plan on taking Org I and II and possibly some Calculus before I take the MCAT in the spring. The best I can do with my undergrad GPA by the time I apply is about a 2.75. I figured it out, I would have to take another 80 hours of all straight A’s just to get to a 3.0.

With the family, I cannot quit my job to go to school full time. I realize I will have to do well on the MCAT (hopefully 30-35). My science GPA should be fairly high since I did not take much in undergrad when I was stinking it up.

Oh, and I’m taking my prereq’s at a community college.

So, I would like some feedback on my chances with a lousy GPA. Will I have to stay in school forever to get it up to at least a 3.0? It would take me about 3 years at the rate I’m going.