can I think this way?

I’m not an analytical or diagnostic thinker. Rather I would say I’m an intuitive thinker, if I had to choose. I was a writer; I went to art school, and now I’m about to finish up my undergrad. I’m 42. And as someone who’s taken the premed courses (with varying success at best) and who’s taken the MCAT once (and did poorly), I’ve been asking myself is this right for me? A friend of mine put it to me this way: "You’re strengths are inter-personal skills, that’s where you get your “flow” from, your joy. Being a doctor is for the most part not about that. It’s about diagnosing, thinking analytically."
He went on to say that surely I could learn to think that way and take the MCAT, but–and he emphasised this next part-- would you be happy doing that, thinking that way, given that it doesn’t come naturally to you?
So, I ask you, is he corrrect in his analaysis of what it’s like to be a doc? (I should say that he’s about to enter med school).
I’m interested in working in the palliative care field, working to heal patients in that kind of enviornment.
thanks.

There is lots of interpersonal stuff in medicine–but your main role is bringing that interpersonal stuff to bear within a relationship of being a technical consultant on highly personal matters. That doesn’t answer your question entirely but you may want to think about whether what you are thinking about doing actually requires an MD. I would think about it this way: is there any way you can avoid it? That is a question all of us should ask ourselves before starting med school–because it is a big big thing to do, and very hard, and wonderful if you love it, and pure torture if you don’t.
–joe

Hi there,