Can the MCAT Really Be Studied For?

I know the subject of this post may seem a bit ignorant but what I want to know is if you have always been a poor standardized test-taker, or average standardized test-taker, will it be extremely difficult for you to do above average on the MCAT no matter how much you know/study?
For instance, I studied for the LSAT for several months to apply to law school and I got around the 65th pecentile -my usual range for all standardized tests I have ever taken. Is the MCAT really a test that one can do well at if they have a mastery of the subject matter or does it come down to how complicated the questions are arranged/worded? Any inspirational stories that would prove my presumptions false?
Thanks, people!

B1leper,
I really do believe that it can be studied for. I have not taken it for real (only practice exam)but the test taking techniques that Kaplan is providing really do seem to be making a difference. You definitely have to have a base of knowledge but mostly it seems to be about reading the question correctly and anticipating the correct answer while not getting sucked in by the very tempting three other possible selections. Just my 2 cents.

I agree with dmaes. I have always considered myself a poor standardized test taker and loved the lack of multiple choice I had through college, which is why I so readily shelled out the money to Kaplan. Not only did I get a great review of the high yield topics (not every detail you learn in a college course is on the MCAT) but I learned how to take the test. Learning how to approach the exam (endurance for an all day exam, how to approach test questions, how not to feel defeated when you get stuck on a question, etc) was THE key to my success. I feel much more comfortable with my test taking abilities now.
Hope this helps,
Tara

maybe it’s semantics, but I would prefer to say that the MCAT is a test that requires not just studying for, but also preparing for.