Cannot believe the cost of California med schools

Hi everyone,

I am a CA resident and for the first time started looking at the tuition for CA schools (even the state schools). I am truly blown away. It is upwards of $60k per year and some of the DO schools say $75k (including living exp). This means I am easily looking at $250k just to get MD. Anyone know what this means in terms of monthly payments when you actually have to start paying it back? Has anyone else taken on this much debt?

Univ. of IL states 82k+ yearly expense for out of state students. M2 and M3 come out to about 90-100k alone EACH. I think UIL is one of the most expensive schools for out of state students!

I thought the UC system was really cheap for residents?

California’s infamous budget deficit has pushed in-state tuition dramatically upwards, but in general all US medical schools have increased their costs of attendance exponentially with the introduction of the Grad PLUS loan program in 2006. Basically, any US graduate or professional student with no major negatives on their credit report are able to borrow beyond the Stafford loan maximums using the PLUS loan program up to the the school’s predetermined cost of attendance. US medical schools now feel they can realistically and legitimately pass on more of the costs of operating medical schools onto its students. Ironically, because the big 3 Caribbean medical schools are not eligible for Grad PLUS loans (they are only eligible for Stafford loans and private educational loans), the cost of attending a big 3 Caribbean medical school is actually less than many US medical schools.

ihopetobeado2: I’ve been waiting for someone to explain this so well-- thanks. Do you have a link to an article that explains further?

• MattFugazi Said:
ihopetobeado2: I've been waiting for someone to explain this so well-- thanks. Do you have a link to an article that explains further?