Can't seem to get the wife on board

I, again, recently started to consider the Med School pursuit. I didn’t say anything at first, though she noticed I was reading various books on the topic, She finally said, “I know what you’re up to, don’t even think about it”. She is worried about all of the geographic, financial and emotional upheaval it’ll have, as am I. A few days later she heard me out. I explained that right now, I’m just taking one on-line Math class. I’m not going to medical school tomorrow, She’s convinced that it’s going to take me away from her (the vixen of science has been known for that). She pretty much said that such a pursuit will devastate us as a family. Any words of wisdom would be appreciated.

Although I am new to the pre-med pursuit, my previous journey was to a prestigious networking certification that costs (on average) $20-30k to achieve, recommends 10 years in experience, and 2-3 attempts, with each attempt costing $1,500 + travel to the three testing sites in the united states…plenty enough for a wife to not be happy about.

It took some getting used to. My wife also wasn’t too excited. I think for me, at least, the key was letting her know I was serious about it, and it was not just a “phase”. Additionally, when you’re not studying, you should surely be finding time to spend with her/the family, that way it doesn’t seem like you’re totally gone…just kind of! For example, in the middle of my study sessions (8-12 hours a day on the weekends), I’d take an hour or so break to take my wife and daughter out to lunch.

Just my $.02. Bottom line is, if you really want to do it, and don’t, you will regret it in years to come. It’s a big undertaking, undoubtedly, so hopefully your wife and you can come to some sort of an agreement. Best of luck to you!

Well

first of, if I had to choose between my wife and Med School, I’d easily keep my wife.