ccny vs hunter for a late starter

Hello all!

I’m a late comer to the table for the Fall 2012 academic year. Missed the deadline at my top choice, Hunter, and now I’m trying to cobble together a schedule that will get me into med school as fast as possible…

Does anyone know whether I would be better off trying the non-degree route at Hunter (and risk the crazy rush to sign up for classes, with the possibility of not getting in?) OR simply matriculating at CCNY?

Another question that I have is whether it would be possible to work full time while attending classes over summer, fall, and spring. Has anyone successfully done CCNY full time, and if so, what is the schedule for applying to med school?

The Hunter linkage option seems almost too good to pass up but starting late will place me at an enrollment date of Fall 2013, since the Spring enrollment option has (apparently, according to the site) been phased out!!!

My alma mater was Columbia and I graduated with about a 3.8. For various reasons, the postbacc route there isn’t for me, but I’m looking into other formal postbacs on the East coast as a hail mary…

Basically, I just need to get started!!!

Advice from any fellow oldpremed-sters would be much appreciated…

Rule 1: Take a Breath.

Just two quick thoughts

1. Linkage programs need to be examined carefully for conditions. They may do nothing more than to guarantee an interview maintain a 3.5 and get a 30 MCAT. I dont know hunters program, though I may be attending a function with their postbacc club

2. A DIY (do it yourself) postbacc at CCNY may fit your schedule better. Also remember that you can take your prereqs at multiple schools if that is what available.

Hi,

I’m currently at CCNY and here are my thoughts:

• dze1 Said:
1) Does anyone know whether I would be better off trying the non-degree route at Hunter (and risk the crazy rush to sign up for classes, with the possibility of not getting in?) OR simply matriculating at CCNY?