Changing residency: Please HELP!

I just finished 3 months in a DO family residency. The last day of the 3rd month they told me I needed to repeat my medicine rotation but would not give me any reason. They wanted me to sign something making me retake the rotation again and take a test only given to 3rd year internal med residents. I said no and quit. Now they want me to sign a paper releasing them. I want to make sure I can get another residency. Who should I talk to? Should I get a lawyer? What kind? What do I need from them to get into a new residency? Is there anyone out there who can help me? I am an older nurse and I think that is what has triggered this.

You reacted hastily and now it is going to be very hard to get more/better feedback. I don’t really have any idea what to suggest in terms of your next step; my instinct is to recommend that you eat a whole bunch of crow and crawl back on your knees to that program, at least long enough to ask them for constructive feedback and advice about what to do next.

Being asked to repeat a month or a section is not that unusual, but you should’ve been informed as to what your deficiencies were that required you to do this.

I seriously doubt this is because you are an “old nurse.” Try to get rid of that thought, as it doesn’t help you figure out what to do next. Good luck.

Mar

I agree with Mary, you were very hasty in quitting and now you may have to pay the price. Taking the exam which I think may be the ABIM practice exam? which btw we as IM residents take each year starting intern year, is no biggie. Repeating one rotation is also no biggie in the big scheme of things. Now, you may be SOL and have a difficult time getting another spot. Eat crow and beg your program to reconsider…and let you do what they suggested. Good luck.