Charting the Course (Intro)

Hello, all.

I am a 33 year-old who has recently gotten back into the medical field. At the moment, I’ve taken a pause in my Back to School quest in order to appraise some ideas. I’ve done a good bit of research, but definitely lack the hands-on experience with the process to be able to figure out for myself (With any confidence) the best route to take from here.

I have a bit to overcome – Back in ‘92 I was a free ride pre-med student at the University of New Mexico. Inasmuch as I had the decision-making ability of a particularly headstrong eighteen year old, I decided to focus all of my energies on my music career. In short, I allowed my grades to tank and I dropped out.

Fast forward about ten music career years later (Wasn’t a total wash. Got one album out, got some regional success, and, let’s face it, it was fun. I wouldn’t have had nearly as interesting Life Stories to relay had I not taken that little detour, heh!).

I was stuck in a dead-end and boringly mindless state government job, bad relationship, the whole ‘General Rut’ scenario.

Found myself with the opportunity to quit the job and relocate to go back to school. Worked a couple of full-time jobs with a full-time class load (Occasionally living on my boss’ couch while doing it, trying to get back on top of financial issues resulting when one quits a job and goes back to school), so I became no stranger to “challenging circumstances”.

Anyway, I picked up my second associate’s degree in respiratory therapy and became an RRT. Moved down to San Antonio and got a great job working in a Pedi Intensive Care Unit. It really rekindled the original wish to become a physician.

Now. I’m basically trying to work out which would be the best way to go. Even if my grades were where I wanted them, I would need to retake the prereqs, as it’s been almost fifteen years. I have one associate’s degree in Liberal Arts, which will at least provide for some transfer electives.