CHEM 2 and ORG CHEM 1

Would it be a bad idea to take CHEM 2 and ORG CHEM 1 at the same time?

You don’t really need Chem 2 for Orgo–SO Go for it.

Orgo requires alot of effort no matter how smart you are, so make sure you have the time to study for both. But taking orgo and chem 2, is imo no different than taking ANY 2 science classes at the same time.

To qualify, I have a PhD in chem, could be biased since I “get” chemistry-- maybe someone else has a different opinion?

My risk management side has several reasons NOT to do take both together

1. I think GenChem II can be difficult for some people with solutions chem and acid/base chem part of it

2. OChem, while not computationally difficult, it is a copious amount of material (the technical term is a “shitload”). Topics, such as Stereochemistry will drive some student completely bonkers.

3. Mastery of Ochem I is vital for OChem II which perhaps the most material heavy course in all of the prereqs.

4. You may not want to dilute your resources and energy in both chem courses which then could impact performance in the second half of OChem

In sum, one of my risk management maxiums is do not risk bad grades by overloading on course work. Here the potential is risk of poor grades in 3 courses.

This underlies other question I always: are you trying to get into medical school or are you trying to get into medical quickly? Or as we say in Corporate America Project Management, “Good, Fast, Cheap: Pick Two Out Of Three.” Going too fast may bring mediocre grades and lessen you as as an applicant. Taking a little longer to take courses won’t be a factor for the adcoms. Bad grades will…

'nuf said

I guess I should have asked my question more accurately. Is CHEM 2 absolute pre-req for ORG CHEM 1?

No matter what, I will be taking 2 science courses each semester. But by taking CHEM 2 and ORG 1 at the same time, I will be done 1 semester earlier. ORG 1 is usually not offered during summer at the CC I’m attending.