Chicago Post-Bacc Programs. Please Help, Chicagoans!

Hello all! I am new to this community and have just began (about 1 month ago) looking into the possibility of going back to school. I am currently 26 years old and live in Chicago. I graduated from Ball State University in 2007 with a 3.4 GPA (business, no science classes) and went to work for a very large international business consulting firm in Chicago. Well I suppose the cubicle isolation and impending carpel tunnel has gotten to me already, so here I am!

My main concern is speed right now, I want to get my pre-reqs done as quick as possible but don’t want to take on too much at a time that I don’t get A’s. I do not need to work during my post-bacc time, so I suppose this is a huge plus. I also would like to stay in the Chicago area, if possible. Are there any programs in Chicago with linkages and/or ties to med schools? I have struggled to locate any, but would really like to skip that glide year if feasible.

Is there are any Chicago post-bacc’s or Chicago post-bacc graduates out there that can provide some insight. If any Chicagoans can provide information for my questions as well as other general information that I may find pertinent, I would be incredibly grateful!

-r

I would HIGHLY recommend the Oldpremed conference in your city, June 10-13. You will be able to meet tons of people that can offer advice … I wish I could go!

In addition to attending the conference, you should check out http://services.aamc.org/postbac/. Search results return a handful of post bacc programs in Chicago: Loyola, Northwestern, Rosalind Franklin… Conduct some research into these programs and schedule time to meet with an advisor. Perhaps you’ll find that one is right for you.

Tmman,

I’m not from Chicago and don’t have any personal experience with postbac programs offered in Chicago, but with so many universities and medical schools you’ll find some formal and ‘self-tailored’ pre-med programs.