Choosing a post-bac

Hi everyone,

I’m new to this forum but I’ve stumbled across it in my search for more info on post-bacs and would love to get the community’s input on my situation.

To give you some background, I graduated from Dartmouth with an English major and about a 3.57 GPA. I was pre-med freshman and sophomore year and got B’s in my bio pre-reqs, gen chem I and physics I, so my current science GPA is around a 3.0, maybe slightly higher. I dropped pre-med and pursued a job in PR, which I’ve been doing for about a year, and I really miss medicine and have decided it’s the right path for me after all, but now of course have to finish up my pre-reqs.

After applying to a number of programs, it became clear that since I’ve completed about half of my pre-reqs I’m not really a candidate for the more supportive post-bac programs for career changers. I’ve gotten into the post-bac program at American University and UNC-Greensboro, both of which are essentially certificate programs. I’m waitlisted for the UVA post-bac as well. I’m from Maryland, and also have the option of the UMD SIE program. I know I need to up my sci GPA, and I think American, UMD or UNCG would give me a good opportunity to do that, but I’m just not sure what the right call is here, or if one exists.

So my questions are:

-What would you recommend? Is there a clear best option here?

-Is there benefit to (paying more for) a certificate program as opposed to a total DIY like the UMD SIE program?

-Is it worth it to try to get off the waitlist at UVA?

If anyone has advice or has been through a similar experience I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks!!!