Choosing the Pre-med Undergraduate Institution

Hello Dr. Gray,

I am a high school rising senior and trying to figure out what type of undergraduate schools I should be going to for the best pre-med experience.

What type of schools would you recommend for pre-med? For example, I want to go to University of California public schools, but some people around me tell me that a large public school is not a good option in terms of having a good GPA because of curves, less opportunities and letters of recommendation.

I really need your help! Thank you!

I am not an expert by any means, but I would say you should go somewhere that you will make you happy. I am not sure about the public university thing you mentioned, but I attended a public university and we have a large group of pre-med students that go on to medical schools in addition to a BA/MD program. In addition, if you look here: https://www.aamc.org/media/9636/download , most of the institutions that supplied 50+ applicants in the 2020-21 cycle were public universities.
You can take what I am saying with a grain of salt, but at this point in my life, after spending several years in undergrad and making many mistakes, the advice I would give is go somewhere that will give you a wide range of experiences. Undergrad is not just about taking the per-requisite classes for medical school. You will take many classes outside of the sciences, meet lots of people from different backgrounds and you might even end up finding something you love more than medicine. Good luck.

1 Like

Thank you for your response!

Hi Susan,