Class of 2018 Chat

Hi Everyone,

I didn’t see one of these yet so I thought I would post it. I am excited to be starting med school in August but very nervous.

Congratulations to all who have been accepted and will hear soon about their acceptance.

Is anyone doing anything yet to prepare if that is even something that can be done? I spoke with several med students at the school that I will be attending and they all pretty much said to enjoy the time off (I work full time as a middle/high school teacher and part time as a college instructor) as they feel that there is very little that I can do. I worry about the memorization aspect and speed of the material as one med student said that you can’t learn it all no matter how much you study. She said that was a hard realization for her since she was summa cum laude at her school. She is currently an honor student in med school.

I also worry about the financial aspects of med school and weirdly some worries about being a non trad among trads have crept up on me which is not normally my thing.

My commute should not be bad- roughly half an hour. I am not taking the interstate as it is a straight shot for me up the highway as soon as I pull out of my subdivision.

Oh and I forgot to add the administration and teachers know at my school that I am leaving but I have not yet told the students. I sponsor our HOSA club (Health Occupation Student Association) so it will be a shock when I tell them the sponsor is going to med school.

Hi there,