CLEP or not to CLEP...

In the debate series (CC, AP…) CLEP deserves a thread.

I’d like to hear from premed and med students who CLEPPED and their experience when it comes to med school application.

I am asking because I have a PhD in Biochemistry and I have to retake the pre-reqs. Obviously (with a little bit of work) I could CLEP out of Bio, GChem, Calculus, English and satisfy a good portion of the pre-reqs this way (about half or a third). Med School also require labs so I could complete my pre-req with labs in CC for BIO and Phys and take yearU for OChem (I am teaching Biology in a CC and have a full time faculty appointment in a Med School doing research).

The other issue is that CLEP is not part of the GPA and I don’t have a GPA currently (that’s why I have to retake the pre-reqs.)

Ultimately, the decision lies the admission committee of each school. But I’d like to hear from your experience and if you think that given my sitatuion CLEP could be a good idea.

Thanks for the input.

I will reply and start this off. People can Clep out of electives or other courses such as your Generals, e.g. Biology (No Lab). So as a premed student this one is out for us. I clepped 6 generals, and the rest electives. If you are interested taking some Online Pre-Med Classes WITH Lab, Ocean College is now offering this. Go here:

http://www.ocean.edu/academics/programs_of _study/s…

Back to Clep.

Here are the classes I have CLEP’ed / Dantes(DSST)

SOC-GEN Beh/Soc Science (Gen Ed ) Med. hard

CIS-GEN Computer Science (Gen Ed) Easy

PSY-101 General Psychology (General) Med. Hard

SOC Principles of Sociology (General) Easy

SCI-NLC Natrl Sci Non-Lab Course (General Ed) Med. Hard

DANTES Environment/Humanity Easy

DANTES Substance Abuse Easy

BUS-101 Introduction to Business Easy

PHL-HUM Humanities: Philosophy Gen Ed (General Tough Test)

Good CLEP Forum

http://www.degreeforum.net/

Thomas