Clinical Experience

Hello,

My question has to do with clinical experience, and what schools will accept as experience. I have been working in primary care for almost 3 years as a patient service coordinator. I work very closely with 16 doctors and spend a lot of time working directly with patients. My work is mostly administrative, however. I schedule appointments, answer phones, manage provider schedules, get insurance authorization, conduct chart review, etc… I am lucky enough to work with wonderful doctors, PAs, and nurses who will bring me into a room from time to time to watch a procedure, or just see something I might find interesting. Recently, I applied to a post-bac nursing program thinking it would be a good way of getting back into school and gain clinical experience for med school later (I also considered NP as a back up in case I wasn’t able to get into med school). However, when I did not get accepted to the post-bac program, I was told that my experience did not count as enough “clinical time.” They did not consider my work clinical experience unless I was in the room with a nurse. All of the back office, behind the scenes kind of work that I did with providers did not count. I feel like I have good knowledge of what a typical day is like for a doctor working in an outpatient clinic. I have also learned so much about specific illnesses, treatments, labs, and medications just by asking questions and following up on the treatment of patients from outside the exam room. Will medical schools accept the work that I have been doing as clinical experience, or will I need to find more time to shadow providers outside of work hours? Any feedback is much appreciated!

Thank you,

Katie