Columbia post-bac...what are my chances?

Hi All, I’m new here and looking for advice. Basically I’m planning to apply to Columbia’s post bac this fall but my story is complicated and I’m wondering if anyone can tell me what chance I have of being accepted.

I graduated from San Francisco State in 2005 with a 3.49 gpa dual majoring in psychology and art. My concentration was physiological psyc and after graduating went into clinical psyc working at a psychiatric counseling center for youth and children in california. I then moved to New York and took a job in finance for salary reasons, but left that job 3 years later to be a stay at home with my infant.

So you might be saying okay you have a pretty good chance but here are my skeletons…freshman year I suffered from anxiety and depression. I finished the year with a 2.6 but sophmore year I withdrew from all classes. I then left school for 2 years before returning to a 3.2 gpa year. Just when I was starting to build momentum, I got booted out for 1 semester because I had not fufilled a math requirement. So I took the class at a JC getting an A++ and that’s when I had a total turnaround. Having long since conquered all of my anxiety & depression I decided to major in psych to help others do the same. I returned to my 4 yr school to 3 solid years of dean’s list and 3.7-3.9 gpa etc. Working my butt off, sometimes taking 22 units at a time.

So now I’m 30 and a happily married mom and contemplating columbia’s post bac as my next step towards an eventual career in psychiatry (or pediatric psychiatry) and wondering what are the chances they will look at my backround favorably? Will they just look at my 3.49 cumulative and my personal statement or will they eye the details of my undergrad record with suspicion?

Additional facts: the only science I had was freshman year bio (got a B). Math always As. My high school GPA was 3.1 and SAT 1160.

PM’ing you now …