committee letter?

Hi all! I’ve been browsing this forum and it’s helped with lots of questions/concerns/stress es I’ve had so far! What a great resource

I’m sort of a non-traditional applicant in that I finished my four year college degree three years ago, and I’m getting ready to apply to MD and possibly DO programs this spring. I completed all of my pre-reqs at this college, and majored in bio. My undergrad institution does have a formal committee review process for pre-meds, which I didn’t pursue as an undergrad because I wasn’t fully ready to apply at the time. They do offer committee interviews and letters for alumni, though I now live in a completely different part of the country and would need to make time to travel back this month to meet with profs on the committee - most of whom I did not have for any classes or really get to know as an undergrad.

Here’s my question – do I need to go through my undergrad institution’s committee process? Would it give me an edge or just be an unnecessary investment of time? Most of the med schools that I’m planning to apply to don’t specifically “require” a committee letter, and I’ll be able to secure other letters from individual undergrad profs (one of which is at a new institution now, so wouldn’t contribute to the committee letter anyway), MDs that I’ve worked with since graduating, and an international health internship supervisor.

Another factor in all of this is the fact that the pre-health advisor at my bac school had made some pretty disparaging remarks about my GPA (around 3.4), and said that I “would never get in” to medical school, which is probably what sparked the whole debarking from the “traditional” straight-to-med school path after college thing anyway. One grad degree and considerably more life experience later, I’m back and ready to apply. So getting back in touch with this health advisor is not something I’m jumping to do, though I’ll do whatever is necessary, of course!!!