community college vs. university

I am currently in the Army. I am 36 y/o and I am a nurse. I am premed but I am trying to take my pre reqs at a community college. I have not seen in any Med school that there is a requirement that the hard sciences come from a university. Will they be ok with community college?

Rangerbroad, if you do a search through the forums you will find a lot of discussion regarding this topic. I think the general consensus is to attempt to take the courses at a university. You will find that different medical schools look at courses done at community college differently. I believe DO schools are more willing to accept students who have courses from community colleges than are MD schools. Of course you will find exceptions. My recommendation would be to contact the med schools in which you’re interested and ask them directly.

Best of luck!

• MD2B2010 Said:
Rangerbroad, if you do a search through the forums you will find a lot of discussion regarding this topic. I think the general consensus is to attempt to take the courses at a university. You will find that different medical schools look at courses done at community college differently. I believe DO schools are more willing to accept students who have courses from community colleges than are MD schools. Of course you will find exceptions. My recommendation would be to contact the med schools in which you're interested and ask them directly.

Best of luck!

All I can say is that it "all depends." Some schools might not approve, but others might. I'm actually taking all of my prereqs at the community college level, but I do plan on taking some upper levels in the university. I personally feel that, for me, I'm going to get a better education by doing it at the CC level. Smaller classes, more direct contact with the professor, etc.