Confused about Biology Prereq

Hello everyone, I am confused about the Biology prerequisite to appy to Medical School. When I looked at the topics for the MCAT, they are different than those covered in General College Biology. My question is: Should I take Human Anatomy & Physiology instead of General Biology, or is Biology a prereq for it? I also noticed I need a lab with Biology. Is this fulfilled with Human Anat.?

I would appreciate any input. I just have the Biology and Organic prereqs to fulfill, as my degree is in Mechanical Engineering.

You can take the Human Anatomy class as long as it is listed as a Biology course…such as Biology 330 or something like that. You must have 8 credits of Biology WITH Labs…So make sure the Anatomy course has a lab with it. You can take any course you want…such as Cell Biology, Virology, Animal parasitology, etc as long as it is listed as a BIOLOGY course at the school you are taking them at.

I think you’d be better off if you take a general biology class. MCAT tests more general concepts than human anatomy/ physiology ones. At least general biology would be better for preparing you for MCAT and other sciences in med school. If you can take both, then take the a/p class too - nothing can prepare you for how intense the anatomy is in med school, but it won’t hurt either :).

Is there a pre-med advisor in your school? He/She could be able to tell you which class in your school is the best one to fulfill the pre-med requirements and to prepare you for the MCAT and med school.

I agree with Madkasia, the schools I have talked to want to see a year of general bio with a lab. In addition, they felt that a second course of cell biology or microbiology would be far more helpful than A and P. Hope that helps!

(deleted by OPM staff)

Mike,

I was confused too. What I did was the following:

made an Excel sheet of 8 preferred medical school admissions requirements (not every school is the same, mind you).