Current climate for older premeds and request advice

Hello!

I represent the far-college graduate population with an asterisk. I graduated from college with honors, premed requirements complete and a gpa north of 3.5 over a decade ago. The departure from a premed track was initiated because of a call to action. I saw first hand a rise of pharmaceutical drug recalls but did not understand how the pharmaceutical development approval process correlated with the drug recalls. If I could not understand it myself, how could I as a future physician inform a patient about the modification of a treatment plan due to a recalled drug. I went into a career in the pharmaceutical industry to gain that knowledge. Over a decade later, I am back on the premed train. While I know I will be a better physician because I took too many gap years, I find the premed journey needlessly difficult and sources of creditable premed advice few. I am on my last few steps of the premed journey and come to this forum asking for advice or at least reassurance that what I have done thus far is enough to apply to medical school next year (if you want to skip ahead see #5). The below points highlight what I have done, what I learned along the way (I hope this is helpful to others) and where I am now in my journey. I do apologize for the length.

1. Reflection and creation of a career development plan. I reflected on the aspects of my former career that I loved and didn’t enjoy. I put those traits into a clinical context for use in choosing a medical specialty, which is how I arrived at a surgical specialty (it is literally the one that checks off all the boxes). I then created a career development plan listing the allopathic medical schools, residencies and fellowships I am currently interested in.