Current RN- but medical school is my goal

Hi I graduated nursing school July 2019. Working as a nurse now. And I know I want to become a doctor and medical school is my goal. I am currently getting my bachelors of science in nursing. Will be done with my BSN July 2021. I always knew I will be in medical field. After becoming a nurse and looking into MD vs RN roles and I know that I really want to be a doctor and I am ready to take the long path. Is it okay for me to finish my BSN and the work on my Prerequisites for medical school? I am ready to leave my nursing job and start studying for medical school. I heard having a bachelors degree is ideal. So I am finishing my bachelors and then want to get into medical school.
Please help me guide what I really should do at this time? Continue my BSN? or not waste time and start pre med classes?
Thanks.

I am also an RN going back to medical school. I had my BSN initially, however. Honestly if you’re so close to being done with your BSN you might as well just finish it as I think it shows excellence within nursing and it is required you have a bachelors degree to apply to most medical schools. That being said I would research and figure out how many science pre reqs you need to apply to medical school. If it is a significant amount see how long it would take you to obtain a bachelors in bio/chemistry or whatever and make the decision based on that. It really depends on how many pre requisites you have left!

@harveysa thank you so much. I am in my first semester of BSN program. My goal is to complete it in 9 months. I believe I will have to take a lot of pre requisites (most of them). What were step you took after having a BSN and taking pre med courses?
So I would take all pre med courses “required ones” then after completing take MCAT? And apply for medical school? Is that what I’d do?
I appreciate your response.