dealing with doubt

Hey folks,
I haven’t been posting much because with orgo + lab, phys + lab, bio + lab and volunteering, I’ve not much time to spare.
Perhaps it’s just the timing–right before finals, but right after a brief Thanksgiving respite but I’m saggin’ big-time. I’m feeling constantly torn between school and my personal life. When I’m studying, I’m acutely aware that I am missing out on time with the love of my life (much less the myriad other social relationships that have all but ceased to exist).
When I’m with the love of my life, I’m acutely aware that I should be studying.
Right now I feel like I don’t want to spend the next 6-10 years of my life feeling torn between two competing interests. But the alternative is spending the rest of my life doing something that feels like I’ve settled for less that I am capable of.
I took so long in making the decision to do this. I felt so confident in my ability to do so, and in my ability to juggle the competing demands. Suddenly, I’m not so sure. I thought that I’d be able to make short-term sacrifices to get to that long-term goal, yet I’m not happy with the short term sacrifices I have to make.
I’m afraid that I have intense, competing desires. And I’m unwilling to give up either one of them. But I don’t want to feel pulled in both directions. Nor do I want to settle.
What to do? I should be studying for a bio exam, but instead have spent the last hour questioning my desire and ability to succeed. sigh
Perhaps things will look better in the morning.
At least I can look out my window and see the most beautiful first snowflakes of the year blanketing the sky. There certainly is much comfort in the beauty and wonder of nature.
–Vera