Developing science study skills

Hello, all!

My name is Bryan. I’m new here, having recently decided to face the fact (and the fear) that I really have wanted to go into medicine for 15+ years. I’m currently 35, working full-time as a professional counselor and taking some premed sciences on the side.

My background is in psychology, where the “science” as applied to the client in front of me is largely qualitative and subjective. It has been a quantum leap (although I couldn’t tell you to which subshell) into another dimension to tie my mind down to the quantitative aspects of (most recently) general chemistry, where the concepts are almost entirely mathematically represented. I am capable of the work; however, I am finding that my study skills are lacking in efficiency.

I began to realize this after speaking with my fiance’ recently. My fiance’ is a resident family medicine physician and has been wonderfully supportive of my dream to go to med school. She was watching me work chemistry problems the other night and had a brilliant insight on my study methods. While I was coming up with correct answers after a long time working, she commented that I was going about the process intuitively (perhaps as a behavioral sciences person would), not really systematically applying the “hard rules” that would have led to me to the answers much more efficiently.

At that point, I realized just how great a gulf I have crossed into the quantitative sciences, yet have continued to attempt to apply my intuitive learning style to these sciences. This style has ceased to work for me, especially when under the time pressure of tests.

My question is this: how can I best improve my study skills in these sciences?