Dilemma- Accept UCLA Acute Care PNP program or keep trying for Med School

Hi all,

I am 31 and I always wanted to be a doctor.Life however intervened and like many I had a really rough and traumatic childhood and long story short was homeless at 15 and won many scholarships to colleges but was so traumatized I dropped out and by the time I made it back to college I convinced myself nursing could fulfill my love of medicine, while allowing me to quickly provide for myself. However, EVERY DAY as a nurse I have regretted not fighting harder for my dream. I got married last year and we are trying to have a little one. (I am a NICU nurse hence massive paranoia towards all the things that can go wrong the longer you wait to have kids). I just still feel such an emptiness career wise because I know I could have been a great MD/DO but I let it slip through my fingers. But I dont know if I can find happiness as an Acute Care PNP, married and with a family… or keep pushing for becoming a doctor and risk a unhappy home? I must preface I had given up on my doctor dream until I met my husband and he said to me he noticed I never stopped wanting to become a doctor so why dont I try. However, I rushed it and did not score as high as I could have on the MCAT so Caribbean schools are the surest chance I have while state school are a gamble. Of course, we are newlyweds so going off to grenada does not seem like the best choice. I just feel so conflicted. I cannot tell if I am just so stuck in the past holding on to this dream that I could be happy career wise otherwise? OR if I will always be unhappy until I become a doctor. A friend told me once not all of our dreams are meant to come true. Sometimes we need to determine which ones are more important to us and of course family and making my marriage a great one is. But I feel heartbroken as I think of never becoming a Neonatologist (oh did I mention that… so I am looking at 10 years!!!).

Any kind words of wisdom is appreciated