Discouraging Pre-Med Advisors!!!

Ok. So as a non-traditional student, I decided to go talk to the University Pre-med Advisor where I work at, and boy, it was an eye opening experience. Talk about starting your Monday off on the wrong foot. He said that I needed to have 2 science letters of recommendation. It’s been 8 years since I took my sciences – all my letters of rec come from the MD faculty I work with some of my nursing instructors for my masters degree(i’m a nurse if you have’t figured it out by now biggrin.gif So he said I HAVE to go back and take my classes all OVER again. I got A’s in most of them, so retake them? That doesn’t make sense if you have a good MCAT score, since that is a reflection of you knowing the basic science, isnt it??? Days like this I want to give up…I would love to know if eveyrone went back and got a post-bac degree? Did anyone retake classes that were more than 5 years old? Help help please… ohmy.gif

He may be a little confused, some of the classes required for nursing do not meet the requirement for the pre-med track. For example, the nursing majors at my school took a lower level gen chem and they only took brief organic. So maybe that is what your pre-med advisor is hinting at. I would not worry too much, if you took the pre-professional gen chem, organic, yada yada, you should be fine. Obviously if you already took the mcat and did well then you should be fine.

Thanks for the info Efex…that is what I was thinking. I took all the normal classes, since I started out as a biochem major…but the other problem is the science letters of recommendation, what do i do about that…it seems like I have no choice but to cram a couple of summer classes in so that I can get an LOR from a science faculty…i am wondering it just varies from school to school… blink.gif

What is the purpose of these LORs? Are they for your med school applications, or are they for your university’s pre-med committee? it makes a difference…