DIY mostly online or Formal post bacc?

Hello all, I have been posting on SDN for a while now and wanted to bring my posts to a more non-traditional centered forum in need of some sound advice. I am a 25 year old student that will be graduating at the end of this year with my bachelor’s in medical laboratory science. I still need to take all of the chemistry courses and physics and probably biochemistry before I can apply to medical school (most likely DO school), and maybe a few retakes as well. The question I bring today is whether or not I should do my post bacc almost entirely online through UNE or should I apply to a formal post bacc? I am not taking any of this lightly, but really need a fresh set of eyes on my situation. I’m willing to relocate to be in a formal post bacc, provided I could actually get accepted into one. Some benefits to this would be a structured, in-class program where I can attend lectures, Supplemental Instruction (if available), study groups, etc. The benefits of doing it all through online would be that I could have my full time job as a Med Tech when I graduate, but I will be paying for this out of pocket, slowly, maybe able to take 2-3 classes per year, based on my work schedule and realistic affordability. Feedback is greatly appreciated!

Best

Kyle

As a guy who did an online post-bacc (mostly through UNE), I’d say do the formal one if your schedule, finances, life, etc can make it work out. You’ll get a lot more from the classroom interaction than you can from an online course that is self-paced, which doesn’t equate to good student discussion.