DIY Post-bacc

Hi, I wanted to pick the brains of people who have been in a similar situation as I have. Non-traditional student looking to do a DIY post-bacc. I will have a BS in Healthcare Administration completed in a couple of months, 3.93 GPA. It is online through Colorado State Univ. I fear that this will be looked down on because it was online.

All my science, and other pre-reqs. will be taken in person at either a 4 year univ. in town or a community college. Obviously the 4 year would be ideal but as a non-matriculated student, my chances of getting into bio, chem, org chemistry are very difficult. I wanted to see how others were successful in getting a spot in these classes? Just email the professor, explain your situation and hope they’re understanding? I also work 50 hours a week, so the CC has class times that I can actually attend. Has anyone here quit or greatly reduce their hours at a nice/well paying job to pursue post-bacc classes? Worth it? Were your employers understanding? I appreciate any insight.

Here’s the deal with getting into classes. Register as a degree-seeking student (you don’t need to finish a 2nd degree). If you already have a bachelor’s degree, this usually means you’ll get scheduling priority for classes.

So far as work goes, I quit my full-time job to go back for prereqs in order to get it done in as short a time as possible. I was fortunate that I was able to find a good paying part-time job that allowed me to help support my family during that year.

I am the same spot you are… I will be spreading out my 4 core classes (1 year gen bio, 1 year gen chem, 1 year ochem, 1 year physics) between CC and university. The important thing that I am considering is the REGISTRATION priority. Of course as students who will have a degree, our registration priority is held back at CCs, which is unfortunate.