Do I Have A Chance in Heck?

Hello,

I am 26 and I graduated from undergrad with a degree in English Literature in 2006 from Brown. I came to Brown knowing I wanted to be a physician, but my fear and anxiety kept me from majoring in the Sciences.

Right now, I am working as a Research Assistant with an Attending Neonatologist and since working here, I have realized that I do want to practice medicine. However, I have a great fear of being rejected my dream.

While in undergrad, I suffered from major depression that left me in a terrible heap. I was able to get through to the other side of the Van Wickle Gates, but I was left feeling mortally wounded and feeling there was no chance of having MD suffixed behind my name.

I am thankful that despite the small number of science courses I have taken, I was able to find positions in research. I have even managed to get my name on a publication in my first research job. However, nothing changes the fact that while I did manage to have a 3.2 in English Lit courses, the 3 hard science courses I took usually wound up showing only a C-worth of effort.

Did my undergraduate underperformance completely shatter any chance of a medical school career? Will there be any chance of redeeming myself and getting an interview to explain what happened while I was at Brown? I have been putting off finishing my coursework because I am too frightened of further damaging my academic record, but if I don’t continue working towards my goal I am locked in time, still pining away and dreaming of a life as a physician.

I need words of honesty, whatever form they may take.

Thanks,

-Li

The real question that you should be asking yourself is will you regret not trying at all.