Do I have a chance?

I am a 29 year old who is interested in applying to Medical School. I graduated 5 yrs ago with an undergrad degree in the sciences, finishing college at about a very sorry 2.75 gpa. I plan on taking post-bacc classes at the local state school this fall so that in 2 years I will be eligible to apply to medical school. Would retaking my sciences classes and adding upper division classes look better on my transcript? I have always wanted to be a physician, and my recent return from the Peace Corps further fueled my desire to buckle down and make it happen. In addition to successfully completing my post-bacc studies, should I do local volunteer work at a hospital in the community? Any advice would be great. Do I have a shot at becoming a competitive candidate in say 2 yrs?

Quote:

Would retaking my sciences classes and adding upper division classes look better on my transcript?

You should probably retake any prerequisite classes that you got a C or lower in. Additionally, in order to prove that you can handle the coursework, you will probably want to take some upper level classes. Medical schools tend not to look as favorably on classes that you are retaking as a good indicator of your ability to do well (i.e. after all, you already took it once - you should be able to do well the second time). Additionally, retaking the pre-reqs will freshen that knowledge for the MCAT. You could also consider a masters degree in a science related subject.
Quote:

In addition to successfully completing my post-bacc studies, should I do local volunteer work at a hospital in the community?