do I have a chance?

My name is Troy. I am a 32 year old married father of 3 and live in Texas. I am a pre-med student. I went back to school after 10 years of full-time work in the fall of 2005. This is my third consecutive semester back in school. Since returning to school, I have excelled with a 3.5 GPA while working 25 hours a week and being an active husband and father.

My problem is that when I attended college right out of high school I was a poor student. I didn’t have any direction or goals. I accumulated a 1.7 GPA in about 4 years of school.

I want to know if someone like me has a chance to get into medical school. I don’t want to waste my time as my family is making great sacrifices so I can pursue my goals. I know that I will continue to excel and even excel more as my study habits continue to improve. I have the option of doing academic fresh start which would eliminate all coursework 10 years or older. If I used this option my GPA would be 3.5 or so rather than my 2.3 overall GPA. I still have at least 3 semesters left to bring my GPA up if I don’t do academic fresh start, and could probably get it up to close to 3.0 overall. If I did do academic fresh start it would take at least 3 extra semesters until I would be read to apply to medical school becuase I would lose many credits.

I would greatly appreciate any advice and opinions.