Do I have any chance?

Hi, Dear all
First time to here. Nice to see everybody!
I think I am a very untraditional medical school applicant, and I really want your opinions.
First, I am an international student with student visa.
I had a good GPA (3.8/4.0) in college majored in Biology. (But the school is outside of US)
I will graduate in 2007 with a Ph.D degree majored in Developmental Biology from US top 20 University (GPA 3.6/4.0)
One scientific publication on top journals.
I am preparing my MCAT on this August.
Do I have any chance to be accepted by medical schools with finicial aid or scholarships?
THank you very much for your suggestion!
Paranoid

Welcome!

As an international applicant without permanent resident status (“green card”), it is difficult to get accepted at most medical schools. You are also not eligible for most government-funded financial aid and scholarships.

It would be a good idea to find a copy of the MSAR (Medical School Admissions Requirements) book, which is available at most university libraries. This will list admissions requirements for all US and Canadian medical schools; it will also give useful information for foreign applicants.

good luck!

With a student visa, not only are you generally not eligible for admission to any of the state medical schools, nor for financial aid, but most of the private schools will want you to guarantee payment up front for anywhere from one to all four years of medical school. Sometimes there are exceptions to this, so you’ll want to talk to the financial aid offices of the schools you are interested in.
Cheers,
Judy

It all depends on how much you want to be a doctor.
You just might check out a “new” school being opened in Gerrero, Mexico.
It is an American Medical School.
You have to have your MCAT score and everything.
Their web site is: imsaonline.us
Have a look and call them. They’ll answer your questions.