DO or MD?

Dear friends,

Last year I applied to two in state allopathic schools and was rejected. This year I am taking the MCAT again (my only real application weakness-I blew it the first time and took the test w/out a prep course and never having had physics)and am applying to more schools including D.O. schools. I am a 33 year old Emory Law Grad that has been doing Constitutional Law and policy work for most of my career. Currently, I also teach at a University. As a physician I would very much like to continue teaching and would like to develop a preventive medicine practice and policy specialty.

The rub: I am worried that if I attend a D.O. school I will be less likely to realize these goals. I have worked very hard on my premedical studies and do not want to be forever viewed as a second rate physician (please forgive–I do not mean to offend). As a D.O., are there ample residency opportunities? Can I be taken seriously as a D.O. in an academic setting? Please be candid. Thank you!!!

I suggest you look at the faculty list of whatever med schools you are applying to and realize that there will be DOs in different departments all over the place. Obviously the ratio of MD:DO will be greater because there are more MD’s practicing at this point.

Also, the regions where there are more DO schools tend to have more DOs practicing.

From my experiences, the stigma of DO/MD really lies within pre-meds. There is nothing a DO can’t do that an MD can’t do in the medical field.

There are no limitations today on people with D.O. degree within the 50 states; anyone who claims otherwise is completely misinformed. There is no such thing as a second rate physician by training, only by disposition.

There have been many discussions on this topic in the past; try searching the forums and you’ll probably find answers to your questions pretty quickly. Good luck and keep at it!