Doctors and smoking

Just curious, for you doctors out there, how many of you smoke at all? If so, is it casual, or heavy smoking? I’m just curious, and I’m sure the more stress that is put upon someone, the more likely they are to indulge. I’ve seen doctors and nurses who smoke, I’m just curious if it’s the exception, or the rule. I’m currently trying to quit, but I’m wondering if I’ll get sucked back in once I’m a doctor, due to the high stress demands that will be present. Do you sometimes use it as a stress reliever, or do you find other ways to calm yourself? Any ex-smokers who have struggled with this?
Thanks

Thanks for the advice Dave. I’m even more driven to quit being that I am an asthmatic myself.

In the meantime, Zan, get a flu shot! (hey I’m going to be a primary care doc, I gotta say these things) Seriously, your asthma and your smoking really put you in a high-risk group, so if you haven’t already done so, please seek out that flu shot and get it pronto. (and if you go to your doctor’s office to get your flu shot, ask how they can help you when you’re ready to quit.)
Good luck to you, Zan.

Quote:

Just curious, for you doctors out there, how many of you smoke at all? If so, is it casual, or heavy smoking? I’m just curious, and I’m sure the more stress that is put upon someone, the more likely they are to indulge. I’ve seen doctors and nurses who smoke, I’m just curious if it’s the exception, or the rule. I’m currently trying to quit, but I’m wondering if I’ll get sucked back in once I’m a doctor, due to the high stress demands that will be present. Do you sometimes use it as a stress reliever, or do you find other ways to calm yourself? Any ex-smokers who have struggled with this?
Thanks

Hi there,